Your Government

Mason City is governed by the Mayor-Council form of government. In this form of government, the Mayor is elected at large, which means from among the entire population of the City. There are six City Council members, two of which are elected at large and the other four are elected by and represent each one of the four wards in the City.

The City Administrator is appointed by the Mayor and City Council. This position acts as the chief administrative officer of the city and manages the day to day operations of most departments of the city. The other departments that do not fall under the administrative jurisdiction of the City Administrator are governed by a board or commission.