Cops for Kids at Christmas

With the holiday season upon us the Mason City Police Department Local Unit 18 of the Iowa State Police Association is preparing for its annual Cops for Kids at Christmas event.  For years, The Cops for Kids at Christmas program, formerly called “Shop with a Cop,” has helped to brighten the holidays for over a thousand disadvantaged children and their families.  Each year Unit 18 member officers meet with their young guests and their families and spend time shopping together at local businesses helping them pick out both necessities as well as a special toy.

Mason City Police Department’s Local Unit 18 is currently conducting a fundraising letter campaign to gain contributions for this valuable program.  If Unit 18 is to be able to continue helping in this way, we need help from people who care about the quality of life of these kids.  If you have not received a letter but would still like to contribute you can do so by sending a check to Mason City Police Department ISPA Unit 18 at 78 S Georgia Ave, Mason City, Iowa 50401.  Please make checks out to Mason City Police Department ISPA Unit 18.

On behalf of Local Unit 18 and everyone at the Mason City Police Department, thank you for your support of the Cops for Kids at Christmas program.  Your generosity is what makes the program possible. Download a copy of the letter below:

Cops for Kids at Christmas donation letter

Mason City Police Department ISPA Local Unit 18

Officers Receive Mason City Police Department's Life Saving Medal


Life Savings Award Ceremony November 2013  
From left: Third Detail Lieutenant Rich Jensen, Mayor Eric Bookmeyer, Officer Jennifer Barr, Officer Brandon Niedermayer, Officer Josh Stratmann, Officer Steve Shrader, Officer Roungaroun Phaiboun, Chief Michael Lashbrook 


At the November 19, 2013 City Council Meeting Police Chief Michael Lashbrook presented five officers with the Department's Life Saving Medal of Honor, for their actions on May 2, 2013. The quick planning and decisive actions of these officers saved a young Mason City woman who was being repeatedly stabbed by an assailant intent on taking her life.  Her attacker later plead guilty to Attempted Murder.



Mason City Police Officers
Receive Sullivan Brother's Award

Governor Branstad awarded four Mason City Police officers, three firefighters and a Lee County deputy sheriff the "Sullivan Brother's Award of Valor." The award is named for the five brothers from Waterloo who all died while serving together in the Navy in World War Two. 

Mason City police officers Charlie Connor, Tiffany Creekmur, Lane Seifken and Ed Walthall, along with firefighters Lieutenant David Orr, Aaron Beemer and Peter Beiber all were on the scene when a car went into the Winnebago River on October 27th 2010. They went into the frigid waters to rescue the two young people in the car.

Sullivan Brothers Award




Officer Receives Award


Mason City Police Department Officer Tiffany Creekmur was recently awarded the 2011 Officer of the Year Award by the Iowa Association of Women Police at their annual conference held in Des Moines.  She is a 14-year veteran of the Mason City Police Department serving since 1996.

Creekmur Award